wordaboutherart

Mixing Your Own Glazes

I love finding things that align with the undercurrents of my thinking. When I was at Alfred we made our own glazes in five gallon buckets. At the time it was annoying but looking back I now realize the opportunity and unlimited possibility for creativity with glazes I had. We made some awesome colors and while commercial low fire glazes have come a long way, they don’t compare to those beautiful layered and runny high fire glazes. Now as I’m playing more and more with clay I’m thinking about those beautiful glazes and the volume of glaze we mixed, perfect for dipping. Then, along comes an article about the basics of glaze composition and mixing your own glazes! This article led me to two others and I have to say the timing was perfect. It’s as if a Ceramic Arts Daily knew just what I needed! I love that site by the way. Amazing resource for ceramic artists as well as teachers.

Well without further ado, here is the link to the brief but informative article I found so timely.

http://mobile.ceramicartsdaily.org/ceramic-supplies/ceramic-raw-materials/tips-for-stocking-a-ceramic-glaze-pantry/

This entry was published on November 17, 2013 at 3:36 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

