wordaboutherart

Gearing up for Applefest and enjoying Fall.

Fall is here and inspires me in many ways. I look outside and see the changing colors and the leaves drifting lazily to the ground. There is a carpet of color and I stare more often at the ground than up. This morning I gathered leave for a fresh batch of leaf dishes. In a funny way I feel I’m continuing a circle of life when I turn these leaves into ceramic dishes. I wont take leaves from the trees. Its like a treasure hunt as I search for the “right” leaf. I always think of my cousin and my friend while selecting leaves. I feel calm and am reminded of their love and respect for nature. Maybe its my respect for that that keeps me from taking the leaves from the trees. Though most might not care, I feel better, more poetic and yes, more artsy saying that these leaves were gathered from the ground. The search for leaves, the quiet walk, are all part of the process.

I’ve gathered these leaves in an effort to prepare for AppleFest which is just two short weeks away. Hopefully I can make lots of dishes this weekend.

So today as I work, I think of fall, I think of AppleFest, and I think of two special ladies that that I love.

This entry was published on September 27, 2014 at 3:09 pm. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

